Study Hall

When it comes to shopping for your wedding gown, the process starts way before you step into the boutique.

I always find it funny how many Brides I work with that can not tell me what types of dresses they think are beautiful or know what they want to try on when they first walk in.  Now, I know what your thinking “well, isn’t that why we are here and what you are supposed to help us with”, and yes, you are completely correct.  As a Bridal Consultant it is my job to hold your hand during this whole process, but it is nice when there is a jumping off point.

The other reason why it is important for you to study up on wedding trends is because the style of your gown largely determines the style of your wedding.

For example:

This gown.  It is a beautiful Pronovias wedding gown with layers upon layers of silky organza over a satin ball gown.  Now, would you want to wear this getting married on a hot beach down in Mexico?

No.  You wouldn’t.  It does not match your venue, you will be hot as hell and you will end up looking a little weird trying to tromp around the sand in this bad boy.  Don’t get me wrong, I have sold gowns like this for beach weddings before, but it doesn’t mean it’s right.  If you do your research you will know to not even waste your time trying on these gowns for a beach wedding.

So do you kinda see the importance of studying up on trends?

Now, here is your homework that I’m giving you.  I want you to buy some of these magazines:

You get the idea.  These three are my favorite.

I want you to curl up on the couch, or in your bed with a hot drink and thumb through these.  I want you to look at the weddings.  I want you to mark the pages of the things you love and not just dresses, but EVERYTHING that you love.  Flowers, colors, centerpieces and more.  When Brides do this and they bring the magazines in to me and we look at them together, I can find any bride’s dream dress because I can see their vision.

When I was getting married, going through magazines was one of my favorite parts.

So have fun!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment