Wedding Gown Wednesday

I know we all love texture.

About five years ago I was at a show for a designer at Market and I remember seeing a gown with out of this world texture (or what I thought was “out of this world” at the time).

whoa.

That was all I could think.  I had fallen hard for this whole texture thing.

Fast forward five years.

Texture is everywhere.  Every designer has at least one textured piece in each collection and they know that it will sell well.  It’s kinda easy to design a textured gown now.  Just bunch up some fabric, put it on a skirt, sew the skirt onto a ruched bodice and call it good.

I’ve grown to appreciate real, thought out, beautifully executed texture.

So I turn to Oscar de la Renta.

This gown is really almost a crocheted lace.  It is soft, buy also offers a punch in the face when it comes down the aisle.  A good punch.  Not a Katy Perry punching Prince Charming in her new “Wide Awake” video kind of punch.

Take that Russell Brand!  I actually kind of liked this music video…

Maybe more like a refreshing slap in the face when you’re tired.

The gown is a trumpet cut, which means it’s a fit and flare where the flare starts at the hip and not the knee.  This fit is much more forgiving than a mermaid cut and can look good on most figures.

If you want to see this gown and more by Oscar de la Renta click here.  Oh and while you’re there, check out their new 2013 line.  Pretty edgy… and when I say edgy I mean Pioneer-y.

What are you thoughts?

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Wedding Gown Wednesday

  1. Jacob says:

    I like the de la Renta 2013. The first model just stepped out of a Pre-Raphaelite painting (both dress, red hair and hair style).

    • I was pretty surprised by the 2013 line and didn’t expect to like it, but the Art History lover in me came out and I thought the exact same thing you did. All great minds think alike, my friend!

  2. It’s best to participate in a contest for among the best blogs on the web. I will advocate this website!

  3. My Homepage says:

    As soon as I discovered this web site I went on reddit to share some with the enjoy with them. 971594

  4. Rob Summar says:

    I just want to tell you that I am just beginner to blogging and certainly loved you’re web page. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You really come with very good writings. Many thanks for sharing your web-site.

Leave a Reply

