Seek and Destroy

Hi friends!

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend of sleep, relaxation and elbowing strangers at the outlet mall so you can get to the J. Crew dress that has been marked down to 40% off the sale price for your vacation to Cancun next week.

Oh.

Was that just my experience?

Anyway, after my last post I had a couple of people email me about the whole Priscilla of Boston spray painting dresses debacle.

People were up in arms about this!

After the closing of the store, workers were seen out in back spray painting the dresses and throwing them away.

How wasteful!  Why don’t they give them to Brides in need?  Sell that at a more discounted price?

Well, here is some not so pretty insight to the fashion world.

They are not the only ones that do this and this was not the first time.  Most every designer does something like this when they want to get rid of old samples.  They do it for a few reasons.

1.  They do it to keep the integrity of the brand name.  Why does everyone want a Monique Lhuillier gown?  Because not everyone can have one.  They are super expensive and only certain shops are allowed to sell them.  Now, do you see why it blows my mind that Vera Wang has put her gowns in David’s Bridal??????!!!!!!!

2.  They don’t want other designers to get their hands on the gowns and copy their designs and fabrics.

3.  They are just ridiculous.

There is one certain designer that is well renowned that I work very closely with.  They sell me all of their loan samples (I will explain what those are at a later date) that have been damaged and they will sell them to me for a super low price so that I can put them on my sale rack.  About twice a year I will be in their warehouse and there will be a pile of dresses.

I know their fate.

I want to save them.

I offer them a good amount of cash for the whole pile but they decline it.  They are taking them out to burn them.

You think I’m kidding?

Anyway, I don’t agree with it at all.  I would like to stop it, but this is life in the fashion industry.

It can be a little disappointing.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Seek and Destroy

  1. Your comments were spot on… leading me down the path of “yeah, that is wastefull” but then you first realize that this is their business, they own the gowns, they can do with them as they please. Secondly, you understand, with your help, that there is a lot to be said about protecting the Brand. It would be nice if people understood business principles a bit more and perhaps even were to run a business of their own to better understand those principles. CAUTION>> its not for the faint of heart however!

Leave a Reply

