A Maid in Mourning

I know, I know.

The sadness happened back on December 31, 2011, but I find myself drifting off to that day often.

Well, maybe the beginning of the end happened back in 2007.

What am I talking about?

December 31st was the end of an era.

For those of you that don’t know (and have been living under a rock) Priscilla of Boston was known for its breathtaking designs.  It’s stores were glamorous and gowns were meticulous.  Are you familiar with this gown

The beautiful Grace Kelly

I hope all of you know who Grace Kelly is.  If you don’t, please, please go brush up on your fashion icons.

When Grace Kelly married the Prince of Monaco she wore a Priscilla of Boston gown.  You may have noticed that with last years wedding of William and Kate, everyone in the fashion industry was comparing Kate’s gown to Grace’s (I will take this opportunity to let you know that I called that Kate would be wearing a Grace Kelly style of gown.  I should of placed bets).  Next to Princess Diana’s wedding gown, Grace Kelly’s is one of the most iconic gowns of the 20th century.

Do you see why Priscilla of Boston was so great.

Well, if the doors close in 20011, what happened in 2007?

Priscilla of Boston was sold to

Dun Dun DUUUUUUUUUUUUNNNN!

I’m not a snob about most stuff and I’m all about a good deal, but I’m not about Bridal Stores that are all about the big buck.  I believe that when you shop for a wedding gown it should be a beautiful experience.  It should be like going to a day spa, not like running into a big bargain store in your pajamas.

I know some of you are saying “well some of us can’t afford a spa experience.”  Guess what, my family owns two beautiful stores that will make you feel like a queen when you walk in and we will treat you as such.  We also have a good amount of dresses that are under $1,500 (which is what you find at David’s).  So don’t settle.

Anyway, long story short David’s Bridal bought Priscilla of Boston and ran it into the ground.  Pretty much they wanted to take the money that would go into Priscilla of Boston and make more David’s Bridal stores.

It was a sad few years in fashion history.

Anyway, my thoughts today are traveling back to these beautiful gowns

I could go on forever, but I’ll stop here.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

