Your New Best Friend

You step into my shop.

This is the part where I come in.  Or someone like me.

If you have been following this blog, you know that I am a Bridal Consultant.  My job is to know what is hot in Bridal and Wedding trends.  I brush up on these things by going to Market (where we meet with designers to buy their gowns), go to fashion shows, knowing women’s body types and what looks good on them and studying what Fashion Forecasters say are going to be popular this season.

This is from the Pronovias Spring 2011 Fashion Show in Spain. This is the most beautiful fashion show I have attended to date. I'll talk about this later, but it was AMAZING

Now doesn’t that sound like someone you would want to be chummy with at this point in the wedding planning process?

Well… a lot of people look at me more like this

I’m not quit sure why.  I’m happy.  I smile a lot.  I am pretty funny (or at least I think so).

I guess I understand though.  You see me as someone who will lie to you in order to have you purchase your wedding gown from me because, let’s face it I get a nice bonus if that happens.  You think I will only tell you what you want to hear.  You think I will never leave you alone to converse with your Entourage.  You think I’m going to use high pressure sales on you and convince you into buying a gown that you don’t want.

Oooooh ok. So THIS is how you see me.

I get it and I honestly don’t blame you.  We have all been there.  And yes, I have met Bridal Consultants who make me want to rip my hair out because the way they sell is so tacky, BUT most of us are not like that.  Most of us are fun, kind and ready to help you find the perfect dress, even if it isn’t at our shop.  Do you know how many times I have called another store for a Bride to see if the dress she loves is available there for her to purchase?

A couple.

No, but really, I have always led my Bride’s in the right direction, even if that direction is not towards my cash counter.  I never give my personal opinion on a gown unless I am asked by the Bride to give it.  I never tell a Bride she looks beautiful in gown unless I mean it.  I am your guide through this dress buying process and I am there to listen to where you want to go, make suggestions and then take you to your final destination.

So be nice to your Bridal Consultant and trust her.  Don’t say to her ” We’re just looking” and brush her off because, let’s be honest, you aren’t just looking.  You are engaged and need a dress and like I’ve said before, the wedding gown buying business is a whole new experience.  You don’t just walk into a restaurant and tell your server “I’ve got this” and start getting food from the kitchen.  You let them help you the whole time and guide you to the best thing on the menu for what you’re craving.

BUT, I am not your servant, so don’t treat me like one.

So, let’s be friends and have fun while we have this short time together.

Who knows, you might even invite me to your wedding.  It happens more than you think and it’s my favorite part of my job.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

